New Elvis Presley CD to be released: The Best of The ’68 Comeback Special

A new Elvis Presley album inspired by the upcoming Elvis All-Star Tribute NBC special will be released on February 15, 2019.
This two-hour special airing Sunday, February 17 at 9 pm, hosted by Blake Shelton, will pay tribute to the ’68 Comeback Special with performances, rare footage, interviews with Priscilla Presley and Steve Binder plus a special appearance by Lisa Marie Presley.

Today’s top stars will also perform including Jennifer Lopez, Carrie Underwood, John Legend, Shawn Mendes, Ed Sheeran, and Keith Urban among many others.
The Best of The ’68 Comeback Special” CD comprises the Elvis recordings and performances that inspired the upcoming tribute and showcases a new version of the legendary closing number, “If I Can Dream,” as heard in the new special — featuring Elvis’ original vocals alongside new performances by Carrie Underwood, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Darius Rucker and Blake Shelton.
Elvis Presley Best of '68 Comeback Special
The album features 15 Elvis performances from the “stand-up” and “sit-down” shows filmed for the ’68 broadcast, plus three original studio recordings to represent songs that appear in the new special.
Here is the track listing:
  • 1 Trouble / Guitar Man (Opening)
  • 2 Heartbreak Hotel (First “Stand Up” Show)
  • 3 Hound Dog (Second “Stand Up” Show)
  • 4 All Shook Up (Second “Stand Up” Show)
  • 5 Can’t Help Falling in Love (Second “Stand Up” Show)
  • 6 Jailhouse Rock (Second “Stand Up” Show)
  • 7 Don’t Be Cruel (First “Stand Up” Show)
  • 8 Blue Suede Shoes (Second “Sit Down” Show)
  • 9 Baby, What You Want Me to Do (First “Stand Up” Show)
  • 10 Are You Lonesome Tonight? (First “Sit Down” Show)
  • 11 One Night (Second “Sit Down” Show)
  • 12 Love Me Tender (First “Stand Up” Show)
  • 13 Trying to Get to You (Second “Sit Down” Show)
  • 14 Love Me (Second “Sit Down” Show)
  • 15 Memories
  • Bonus Tracks:
  • 16 A Little Less Conversation (recorded March 1968 at Western Recorders Hollywood, CA)
  • 17 Suspicious Minds (recorded January 1969 at American Sound, Memphis, TN)
  • 18 Burning Love (recorded March 1972 at RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA)
  • 19 If I Can Dream – Elvis Presley, Carrie Underwood, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Darius Rucker, Blake Shelton (recorded October 2018 at Universal Studios, Universal City, CA)
Order the CD on Amazon:
Note: A Walmart exclusive version will feature a DVD of the original comeback special.
Other Elvis Presley ’68 Special merchandise:
’68 Comeback Special: 50th Anniversary Edition – 5CD/2 Blu-ray Disc box set
Book by Steve Binder titled COMEBACK: The Making of the 1968 Elvis Special
Follow the Elvis News Examiner on Twitter and Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s