Soundtrack for ‘Elvis Presley: The Searcher’ documentary

Elvis Presley Searcher Soundtrack

The soundtrack to Elvis Presley: The Searcher, the upcoming HBO documentary, will be released on April 6.

Formats include a single CD or 2LP with 18 tracks, and a 3-CD deluxe edition box set which includes a 40-page book of photos and an expanded 55-track overview of Elvis’ career as heard in the film.

The single CD includes the 18 essential Elvis Presley hits, powerful performances, and rare alternative versions of songs at the musical core of the groundbreaking three-hour two-part film which focuses on the development of Elvis’ spellbinding artistry, from his early blues and country roots and influences through his seismic contributions to popular culture to his 1976 recording sessions at the Jungle Room in Graceland.

The two-part documentary film, which will premiere in the United States on HBO on April 14, 2018, uses rare footage lensed throughout Elvis’ life and career as a means of exploring Elvis’ singular musical vision in all its complexity.

Elvis Presley The Searcher soundtrack

The 3CD deluxe box set features 37 additional Elvis cuts plus a special disc featuring selections from Mike McCready’s (Pearl Jam) original score for “Elvis Presley: The Searcher”; Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers performing “Wooden Heart”; and the music that inspired Elvis (including R&B and country classics and “Home Sweet Home” sung by his mother, Gladys Presley). The Elvis Presley: The Searcher deluxe 3CD set includes a 40-page hardcover book featuring rare photography, liner notes by Warren Zanes, and a director’s note by Thom Zimny.

“So, in this collection, one gets not a Greatest Hits package but a song-by-song, curated portrait of an artist,” writes Warren Zanes in the book featured in Elvis Presley: The Searcher, “….an artist who very consistently and courageously gave himself to his performances, as if in the giving he might find some missing part of himself. The truth in his voice, in the end, was the sound of a searcher. Along the way, he built a catalogue as deep as any found in the broad and beautiful vistas of American music.”

“You know, God bless him,” said Tom Petty. “He was a light for all of us. We all owe him for going first into battle. He had no road map and he forged a path of what to do and what not to do. And we shouldn’t make the mistake of writing off a great artist because of all the clatter that came later. We should dwell in what he did that was so beautiful and everlasting, which was that great, great music.”

Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack) is available for pre-order now:

Elvis Presley: The Searcher – Single CD/Digital

  1. Trouble / Guitar Man
  2. My Baby Left Me
  3. That’s All Right
  4. Baby Let’s Play House
  5. Heartbreak Hotel
  6. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
  7. Hound Dog
  8. Crawfish
  9. Mona Lisa
  10. Milky White Way
  11. Like A Baby
  12. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  13. It’s Now Or Never
  14. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  15. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
  16. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
  17. Hurt (take 5)
  18. If I Can Dream

Elvis Presley: The Searcher – 3CD Deluxe Box Set

Disc 1

  1. Trouble / Guitar Man
  2. My Baby Left Me
  3. Baby, What You Want Me To Do
  4. Old Shep
  5. That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
  6. That’s All Right
  7. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
  8. Fool, Fool, Fool
  9. Tweedlee Dee
  10. Baby Let’s Play House
  11. Good Rockin’ Tonight
  12. Trying To Get To You
  13. Blue Moon
  14. When It Rains It Pours
  15. Blue Christmas
  16. Heartbreak Hotel
  17. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
  18. Money Honey
  19. Hound Dog
  20. (There’ll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
  21. Crawfish
  22. Trouble
  23. Farther Along
  24. Mona Lisa
  25. Hide Thou Me
  26. Loving You (end title take 16)
  27. Lonely Man (solo version)
  28. Power Of My Love

Disc 2

  1. Milky White Way
  2. A Mess Of Blues
  3. Fame And Fortune
  4. Love Me Tender / Witchcraft (duet with Frank Sinatra)
  5. Like A Baby
  6. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  7. It’s Now Or Never
  8. Wooden Heart
  9. Swing Down Sweet Chariot
  10. Reconsider Baby
  11. Bossa Nova Baby
  12. C’mon Everybody
  13. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  14. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  15. Run On
  16. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  17. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
  18. Baby Let’s Play House (rehearsal)
  19. Words (rehearsal)
  20. That’s All Right
  21. Never Been To Spain
  22. An American Trilogy
  23. You Gave Me A Mountain
  24. Burning Love (rehearsal version)
  25. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
  26. Hurt (take 5)
  27. If I Can Dream

Disc 3

  1. Dissolution 2 – Mike McCready
  2. Satisfied – The Blackwood Brothers
  3. That’s All Right – Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
  4. She May Be Yours But She Comes To See Me Sometimes – Joe Hill Louis
  5. Mystery Train – Little Junior’s Blue Flames
  6. Smokestack Lightning – Howlin’ Wolf
  7. Rock-A-My Soul – The Blackwood Brothers
  8. Just Walkin‘ In The Rain – The Prisonaires
  9. Rocket 88 – Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats
  10. Write Me A Letter – The Ravens
  11. Blue Moon Of Kentucky – Bill Monroe
  12. Ain’t That Right – Eddie Snow
  13. Just Walkin‘ In The Rain – Johnnie Ray
  14. Lawdy Miss Clawdy – Lloyd Price
  15. Home Sweet Home – Gladys Presley
  16. Blowin’ In The Wind – Odetta
  17. Tomorrow Is A Long Time – Odetta
  18. The Weight – The Staple Singers
  19. Heartbreak Hotel – The Orlons
  20. Wooden Heart – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  21. Rebound – Mike McCready

(excerpts taken from Official Press release)


Get my FREE playlist of Elvis “dance” songs: click here

Check out our latest Elvis newsletter:
(If you are not on our mailing list, go here to subscribe.
Note: this newsletter is different from following our blog posts)
Follow the Elvis News Examiner on Twitter and Facebook



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s